Electronica is the new Blaqk

images.jpegWhile AFI have been one of my favourite bands since I was in my early teens (Back when Black Sails and The Art Of Drowning came out) I was quite intrigued to hear that Jade and Dave’s new project Blaqk Audio would be heading down an Electronica driven road. While they were always in the back of my mind, for reasons unknown I never did check their myspace to get a taste, but this Father’s day while taking my old man down to Jb Hi-Fi to choose some DVD’s that he wanted I picked up a copy of their debut album CexCells for a mere $20I got home, and was instantly greeted with the droning yet danceable Stiff Kittens and immediately started to feel myself bopping along to the tunes. Dave’s vocals really suit the mood of the tunes, Jade has done a terrific job on the music, and the lyrics, as always, are quite intellectual and have an interesting choice of words”Cutting through just like champagne petals sprinkled over the blackest sea urban stars shine, electric, they keep on calling” isn’t the usual words you hear while listening to your average dance album, but they have defiantely made it work so well! Seriously check this out. If you’re looking for something fresh and different you won’t be dissapointed. I’ve been pumping it for three days straight and I usually HATE dance music!  9/10 

Leave a comment