Cross Platform Backup Program in a Snap

images.jpgLike many users out there, I don’t just roll with one Operating System. I own a Macbook, I use a Linux box, and I also have my Vista machine. What I wanted was some programs that I could run across all three platforms for some form of continuity. The first of these programs I got was of course Open Office, which I must say I actually prefer to Office 2007, but iWork 08 is a dream in my books 🙂
My next program I wanted to find was a backup utility that was simple, effective, and that would work on all platforms. That’s when I stumbled across an open source program called Snap Backup
This program is so simple to use, even your grandmother could do it with her eyes closed. Basically you choose which folders you want to be backed up, then give it a file name (in my case I have Vista Backup, Mac Backup and Linux Backup) and choose a destination for the backup file to be placed. Ontop of that you can choose a secondary file location so it will duplicate the file on create it at the second location (So I create a copy to my Linux server and then another copy to an external Hard Drive)
Then go grab a drink and chill out while this neat little program compresses the files into Zip files and places them in your desired location, date included so you won’t get confused when you have more than one backup file.
All in all, Snap Backup is the most simple, most effective, and cheapest solution that I have found to work on basically any operating system out there You can download a copy from http://www.snapbackup.com

Leave a comment